Last week, George R. Block Sr. and Ruby Williams were honored with the Rotary Club of Joliet’s Silver Eagle Award for volunteer service Created for seniors 65-years-old and older, the award recognizes those individuals who have demonstrated “going beyond the call of duty” by providing volunteer service and leadership to the community.
See photos of the award recipients on the Joliet Rotary Facebook page - click here »
A volunteer for St. John the Baptist’s food pantry since its inception 15 years ago, George Block, Sr.  has given his time almost every Monday to fill orders and distribute food for those in need. The 80-year-old volunteer also collects boxes for the pantry and helps to stock shelves. Block also has volunteered as a coach, and provided time to help with other school and church activities.  “He lives the Gospel message of love thy neighbor and feed the poor, said Joliet Rotarian Tom McGrath, who nominated Block. “He has been a committed volunteer throughout his adult life.”
Ninety-year-old, Ruby Williams was honored for her 22-year contribution as an advocate and mentor for women and their families through the National Hookup of Black Women (NHBW), Inc. Nominated by Joliet Rotarian Dr. Cheryl McCarthy, Williams is a founding member of the organization and is responsible for the recruitment and mentoring of over one-third of the organization’s 135 members.  “In addition to NHBW, Ruby has been instrumental in promoting business, civic and social service in the community,” said McCarthy. “She is an advocate for social justice, a voice for the voiceless and a champion for community concerns."
“This is a special award for us, as it provides opportunities to meet and honor dedicated senior volunteers,” said Dave Thornton, Joliet Rotary president. “Joliet Rotary prides itself on service to the community and these Silver Eagle Award recipients are examples of this to highest degree."
The Silver Eagle Award committee includes Joliet Rotarians: Christopher Balaban; Venus Fisher; Roxane Geraci-Militello, chair; Mark Griglione, board liaison; Dan Kuska; Ann O'Neill, and Sr. Mary Frances Seeley.